AEM Honors Bipartisan Lawmakers With 2023 Champion of the Industry Award



ChampionsAEM honored U.S. Senator Gary Peters (D-Mich.), U.S. Senator John Thune (R-S.D.), U.S. Representative Tracey Mann (R-Kan.), and U.S. Representative Jimmy Panetta (D-Calif.) with their AEM Champion of the Industry Award. The award, presented for the third time in the association’s 125+ year history, recognizes members of Congress from both sides of the aisle for their steadfast support of the equipment manufacturing industry and their efforts to advance bipartisan, commonsense solutions to the country’s toughest challenges. 

“The Association of Equipment Manufacturers is proud to honor Senators Peters and Thune and Representatives Mann and Panetta who have demonstrated the bipartisan leadership and constructive governing necessary to move our industry forward,” said Kip Eideberg, AEM senior vice president of government and industry relations. “We need leaders, like these four members of Congress, with the courage to pursue common ground and bold solutions to our nation’s toughest challenges. We are grateful to Senators Peters and Thune and Representative Mann and Panetta for their unwavering commitment to bipartisanship during this pivotal moment for our country.”

The AEM Champion of the Industry, AEM’s most prestigious award, is reserved for one Democrat and one Republican from each legislative chamber who have championed legislation important to equipment manufacturers and have worked across the aisle to help move the industry forward. Candidates are considered and approved by the AEM Government and Public Affairs Committee.

“Americans want leaders who will put politics aside in order to address issues facing their families, their businesses, and their communities,” said Senator Peters. “That is how I have approached my work in Congress and why I am committed to working in a bipartisan way, with dedicated partners like the Association of Equipment Manufacturers, to advance the future of American manufacturing. I am honored to receive this distinction and I look forward to continuing working alongside you to support manufacturers and workers across our country.”

“Equipment manufacturers play a crucial role in strengthening our economy,” said Senator Thune. “It is an honor to be recognized by the Association of Equipment Manufacturers with this award, and I will continue pursing policies that support this industry and promote good-paying jobs in South Dakota and around the country.”

“I am grateful to receive this year's Association of Equipment Manufacturers Champion of the Industry Award," said Representative Mann. “American manufacturers keep America running, ensure that our infrastructure projects run smoothly, and play a critical role in the success of American agriculture. I am proud to work alongside AEM members to advance agricultural and equipment manufacturing priorities that strengthen America.”

“American farmers, ranchers, and producers face a wide array of challenges as they work to feed the world,” said Representative Panetta.  “Through new agricultural technologies and innovations, we are providing them with the tools that they need to grow and sustain their operations and contribute to our local economies.  It is an honor to accept the AEM Champion of Industry Award as we continue our work to support policies that uplift our agricultural industry and strengthen our food security.”

“Now more than ever, Americans are looking for leaders who have the political courage to stand up against partisanship and reach across the aisle,” said Pat Weiler, President of Weiler and the 2023 Chair of AEM’s Government and Public Affairs Committee. “America’s equipment manufacturers are grateful to Senators Peters and Thune and Representatives Mann and Panetta for their leadership and look forward to continue working with them in promoting policies that will create jobs, bolster economic growth, and invest in rural America.”

Previous honorees of the AEM Champion of the Industry Award include U.S. Senators Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), and Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), and U.S. Representatives Cindy Axne (D-Iowa), Don Bacon (R-Neb.), Cheri Bustos (D-Ill.), and Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Penn.) for their tireless efforts on behalf of the equipment manufacturing industry throughout the course of their careers in Congress.

Subscribe to the AEM Industry Advisorfor more AEM news and updates. 

Advocacy & Legislation, AEM Updates

For more AEM news and updates, subscribe to the AEM Industry Advisor.

Related Articles

New Look, Same Awesome Advocacy from the I Make America Campaign

If you’ve been watching I Make America’s social media channels, you may have seen a teaser for our newest efforts to showcase the power and influence of U.S. equipment...

AEM’s John Somers Joins Danfoss-Led Roundtable Discussion on the Future of Construction Machinery

AEM’s John Somers last week joined a delegation of fellow industry leaders in Washington, DC for a roundtable discussion on how the construction industry can utilize...

AEM Hosts Biden Administration Officials and Lawmakers on National Mall to Discuss the Future of American Agriculture

Spanning three days and over 15,000 visitors, the second iteration of AEM’s Celebration of Modern Agriculture on the National Mall proved once again to be a vital piece of the...

April 2024 Sales of 4-Wheel-Drive Tractors Jump More Than 20% in the U.S.

U.S. sales of 4-wheel-drive tractors increased 24.1% in April compared to 2023, according to new data from AEM. Additionally, 4-Wheel-Drive tractor sales are up 1.9% in the U.S....

Innovation and Technology Front and Center at AEM's 2024 Celebration of Modern Agriculture on the National Mall

AEM partnered with member companies, grower groups, agriculture innovators, and the wider farming community to showcase the latest innovations and technologies in American...

View all Advocacy & Legislation